For The Day: Jay-Z “The Story of O.J.”

Necessary motivation for a regular day. This might be my favorite track on 4:44 but “Bam”, “Family Feud”, “4:44” and “Kill Jay-Z” are still in the running.

Sidenote: You know what’s pretty disturbing about all of this? I used to watch cartoons during my prepubescent years and I never knew that some of the imagery that I saw on screen were caricatures of black folks. The maid on Tom and Jerry, how africans were depicted, etc., It wasn’t until later that I realized what I was actually seeing. With that being said, I love that Hov decided to go this route and use this kind of old school animation to tell his story and in my opinion it gives more weight to the narrative.

Leave a Reply

