Sorry Kylie and Kendall, Not TODAY!

IMG_5407

Enough is Enough. As much as I am a fan of self expression and creativity, THIS is Grade A Calabasas bullshit. I really don’t know where to start so I’ll just dive in and I hope that whatever I say connects not only with those that choose to read this but those standing on the outside looking in. Hip-Hop Culture has been used and abused for the sake of the almighty dollar over and over again. Ever since rappers were promoting name brands in their songs, corporations and culture vultures a like were scheming on ways to bait artists with a check and/or false promises. The culture that we held so dear started to slip away from us bit by bit. I didn’t see rappers in Malt Liquor ads in anyone else’s neighborhood, but you can bet that those billboards thrived in mine.

I’m not condemning how artists receive income via sponsorships but I do take issue with some of their choices especially if it leads to them or the art form being EXPLOITED. For example, today via HYPEBEAST, I spotted an article that instantly caused me to palm my entire face for a period of time. Kylie and Kendall Jenner had the BRIGHT idea of superimposing their scantily clad instagram photos over the images of 2Pac and Biggie. Of all people, they chose Tupac Shakur and The Notorious B.I.G.?! That’s how I know that the game is twisted and  that there was a lack of respect for two of hip-hop’s most beloved figures. Those two artists are constant reminders of what can happen when calmer heads are no where to be found when it matters the most. Those brothers did not get shot up in the passenger seats of their respective vehicles just to find themselves on a T-Shirt covered by a Kendall + Kylie logo that was being sold for the outlandish price of $125. Sounds like All Eyez on GREED to me.

I used to say that even though I may not be a fan of the Kardashian clan, I couldn’t knock their hustle. Like the late Albert Johnson once said, ” There’s numerous ways you can choose to earn funds” but over the past few years, my stance on the infamous family has changed dramatically. In my opinion, the Kardashians are the smoothest of opportunists and their relevancy at times is at the expense of others and in this case, the culture. Wack is wack. I wonder who in their circle said to them that this would be a GRAND idea because it wasn’t well thought out at ALL. After Violetta Wallace and Suge Knight’s progeny spoke out against it, the shirts seemed to have disappeared from their website.

By the way, all of you goofy ass rappers and people that constantly give these individuals “passes” to be a part of this world we call Hip-Hop, this is what happens. This is cultural appropriation at it’s finest which is why I was so glad to see them get roasted toasted and burnt to a crisp by everyone on twitter that refused to let their ship sail.

RANT OVER!

Leave a Reply

