For The Day: Tony! Toni! Toné! “Slow Wine”

I don’t know what R&B is on these days but during the 90s, there was so much diversity on the radio and Tony! Toni! Toné! really dropped a House of Hits (see what I did there!) on the game. I’ve been spoiled by so much great music that every time I hear  one of these new “R&B thugs” sing something dumb, I really want to have a Do The Right Thing moment and toss a trashcan through a pizza shop window and yell out “Radio!” and not for Raheem but for the current format on FM and AM radio. Besides the artists on OVO Sound, SZA, Kelela, Sampha, Anderson.Paak,Solange, SiR, Tuxedo, and Frank Ocean (his writing is incredible!) there aren’t too many others that I’d waste my ears on. I always go back in time for the R&B fix that I need so please know that anything made by Tony! Toni! Toné! or Raphael Saadiq as a solo artist will ALWAYS be at the top of the list.

Leave a Reply

