What I Learned from @CThaGod

FullSizeRender 2

While in Barnes And Noble on a Friday evening a week and half ago, I stood in line for about an hour and fifteen minutes to have my copy of Charlamagne’s recent book Black Privilege signed. While waiting to on the first floor to reach the third floor I started to debate on whether or not I wanted to actually go through with it and I also wondered why everyone else was there. Whenever I’m in line for anything that’s taking a bit of time, my thoughts go everywhere and I think about everything. Fortunately for all of us in attendance, the wait wasn’t too bad.

I’ve heard Charlamagne for years! I remembered him as Wendy William’s co-host and as the host of his very own short lived morning show in Philly. I used to think that he was a WILD personality due to his untethered nature; he’d say whatever he wanted about whatever to whomever. You’d have to have nuts the size of Fred Flintstone’s bowling balls to be that raw on-air. But that level of honesty came with a reputation of being a “hater” and he even had instances of individuals trying to get a jump on him in the middle of a New York street. But you have to respect a guy that stuck to his guns no matter how much he may have been disliked.

Charlemagne’s Black Privilege stuck to me. The book wasn’t just another book of celeb stories that you’ve heard over and over again (an ill subliminal) nor was it a self help book with nothing but positive and often times unrealistic ideals. If anything, the bulk Black Privilege can be equated to the classic Hov line (Charlemagne says that there’s a Jay-Z line for every situation in life!) “Hov did that so you wouldn’t have to go through that”. We as readers are given a glimpse into his humble beginnings in Monks Corner, South Carolina along with all of events in his life that has such an immense impact that it propelled him to where he is today all by staying true to himself no matter the consequence.

After reading The Subtle Art of Not Giving A Fuck, I felt that Black Privilege couldn’t have arrived at a better time . I’m not content with being complacent especially since the gift of tomorrow isn’t a guarantee (RIP Prodigy of Mobb Deep). Sounds very cliche to say but is it not a fact? Leaving a legacy of some kind means more to me now than ever. Charlamagne not only shared his story but he shared his method of how he succeeded and the importance of hard work and remaining open. One should never block their blessings by getting in their own way which is a lesson that took the longest for me to learn.

I recommend Black Privilege to anyone that’s currently standing in the crossroads of their careers as well as college students that need to understand how importance of networking, hard work and sacrifice. I’m in my early 30s this book has shown me many ways of improving my hustle.

Leave a Reply

