6.21.17 Thoughts

prodigy-modzik~1920

1. First, as a Hip-Hop fan, I have to start this off by giving a 21 Gun salute to Prodigy of Mobb Deep. He passed away yesterday at the age of 42 due to complications from Sickle Cell Anemia. Prodigy reminded me of my older cousin Ted which is probably why I was even more of a fan back in the day. Prodigy had one of the nicest pens in rap and without a doubt was one of New York’s most influential emcees. 1995’s The Infamous album introduced me to how ill he and Havoc were on joints like “Shook Ones Pt. II”, “Temperature’s Rising” and “Give Up The Goods” then came Hell on Earth the following year with “G.O.D. Part III” and the alleged Pac diss “Drop A Gem On Em”. Somedays I feel like 1999’s Murda Muzik could be my favorite Mobb Deep album but it’s a tough decision to make. And as a solo artist, he proved that he could still be a formidable force with one of the illest tracks “Keep It Thoro” and it’s memorable intro: “Oh y’all n***as killers now, oh word?”. His follow up projects like Return of the Mac, Bumpy Johnson, and Albert Einstein with Alchemist kept my attention as a fan while other emcees from the golden era fell off. Summerjam screen or not, you could never front on him. Rest in Peace, P!

2. Philando Castile. Again, Philando Castile. I figured that if I said the name enough times with my eyes closed maybe I could imagine the bullshit away for once. When I opened my eyes, the headline doesn’t disappear: Police Officer Jeronimo Yanez Found Not Guilty in Shooting Death of Philando Castile. I saw the footage of the Officer murdering Philando in front of his girlfriend and child. We all saw it. Idle witnesses. We all felt the same level of disgust and distrust toward the offending officer and law enforcement in general. Once I read about the verdict, I was disillusioned but I wasn’t upset because this has become a normal occurrence in this country. Some of you will question me on asking how is such a tragedy a normal occurrence but look at the past few years when black lives were unjustly taken by those in law enforcement and the repercussions (lack thereof!) that those officers and fuckheads like George Zimmerman have faced and tell me that the numbing feeling doesn’t set in more and more. I hate that sensation. It shouldn’t happen as often as it happens but damn it what can I do?

3. I saw All Eyez on Me this past weekend and it was very underwhelming. More like whack but that’s because I knew enough about 2Pac’s history to not believe all of what was portrayed on screen. The actors and actresses did the best that they could with the material but then again the material was the problem. When Jada Pinkett-Smith stated that she had an issue with the movie due to the inaccuracies shown about relationship with Pac, that was enough of a reason for me to call bullshit on the entire film though I still went to see how bad it was. If you want to see informative and entertaining movies about the late Tupac Shakur, do yourself a favor and check out Thug Angel and Tupac Resurrection.

4. Note to self: Don’t go to North Korea and be an asshole and expect for my privilege to keep me from facing the consequences of my actions. Oh wait, I’d never do that because I have common sense and as black man in America, the slightest move in my own country could ruin my life. So who needs to be a jackass in a foreign land when I could just be a law abiding citizen and still catch wreck in the good ol’ US of A.

5. I decided to work on a podcast myself because I hate waiting for other people. I never like placing my fate into the hands of others when I, as an able bodied individual can make moves on my own. It’s nothing personal against my homie but “I can’t afford to not record” word to 3 Stacks.

Leave a Reply

