5.31.17 Thoughts

Screen_Shot_2016-05-20_at_4.36.02_PM_1_rycmeb

1. I’d like to thank the members of N.E.R.D. for my new found mantra (and future tattoo): Fly Or Die. Fly Or Die is the title of their sophomore album which had a significant presence in my collegiate life. While reading Charlemagne’s newest book Black Privilege it hit me out of nowhere. In this world it’s fly or die. Either you do or you don’t.

2. You’re always being watched and I’m not referring to “Big Brother” either. Word to Sting and the Police, every step you take and every move you make is being monitored by someone that you may or may not know. Since dyeing my hair, I’ve received favorable nods and comments but yesterday a co-worker stated that I was “brave” for my decision but in reality it’s just me being me. It happened again today with another co-worker who stated something similar but more so out of inspiration. He said that seeing me with the new style took away his apprehensiveness and he wanted to head in the same direction. We open the doors for others by our actions even when we are totally oblivious. Being yourself may cause others to take value in their individuality.

3. With all the hate that Lil Yachty and Lil Uzi Vert continue to receive, I hope that they blow up and take over Hip-Hop. I don’t even listen to those guys that much but I respect their artistry enough to not throw words of disrespect in their direction. Like I get it, some of these people think that they aren’t “REAL HIP HOP” and those brothers may dress differently but I remember when the rappers used to dress like members of the Village People and MC Hammer wore parachute Aladdin pants.

4. This song is 20 years old and yet, it’s still the shit.

5. I tried to talk to spirit of my grandpop before I went to bed last night. I don’t know if he heard me or not but here’s to hoping that he knows that I’m working toward something great.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

