Word to Nas….

c8bbngautb5tzclux9ko

“I got no game it’s just some b****** understand my story”Nas

I always refer to that line. I treat it like something that could only be found in a biblical scripture. It’s not just a slick lyric in a rap song on one of my favorite rap albums, it’s applies to  life. It’s 2017 and as a country we are bracing ourselves for four years of uncertainty. While many are preparing for the absolute worst on behalf of the big bad terrible haired  Trump, I’m living as if it’s business as usual. The same problems that I faced in this country while President Obama was in office (he’s still my president and you can’t tell me different!) will still be prevalent if not worse once the Trump/Pence regime belligerently stumbles into the oval office. Like West Coast rhymer G. Perico titled his latest project, “Shit don’t stop!” and it won’t.

I’m 32 years old but I feel like I’m in my early 20s. I’m a physical anachronism in every sense of the word. I’ve been given the “old soul” title during my middle school era and even now, my coworker makes jokes at my expense because I always refer to 80’s and 90’s pop culture. He says that I can’t let go of that era and he’s not incorrect. But I find it funny since he’s ten years older than I am but I know as much about his era as he does. Another friend believes that I have one foot in the old school and the other in the present. Being able to go back to the future allows me to have all kinds of conversations with all kinds people. I’ve picked up game and having the ability to apply it is a gift that keeps on giving.

I’ve always been fascinated by great communicators even if I wasn’t one myself. I’d never want to be a pimp as that type of lifestyle doesn’t suit me yet I often marveled at their speech. Have you ever listened to the glory that is E-40? If not, you’re robbing yourself of linguistic genius. Too $hort, Snoop Dogg, Suga Free, DJ Quik and other artists of that ilk would say some of the flyest shit on record and I aspired to be as slick tongued as they were but I’ve never been a smooth talker. If anything I’m so comfortable in my transparency that you can’t help but to “understand my story”.

“Hell yeah I’m frontin’ but you love it, though. I’LL SHOW YOU HOW TO DO THIS SON…”Jay-Z

Leave a Reply

