Thoughts on a Tuesday Morning…

“Today, I played it safe…Cards are in my favor”D’Angelo “Greatdayndamornin’/Booty”

The opening lines from one of my go-to tracks on D’Angelo’s sophomore album Voodoo best describes how I start my morning. The first half of “Greatdayndamornin’/Booty” places me in a mode where every day though not guaranteed, should be conquered or at least claimed in the name of triumph. On Monday morning, I woke up with a good vibe after a dope and surprisingly eventful weekend. I left the apartment for the first time in quite while for a concert and a party on Saturday night. At first, I really wanted to lounge at home with a sandwich, netflix and the shrubbery but loyalty to a friend nixed that option. I went to Johnny Brenda’s for the 10th anniversary concert of Hezekiah’s debut album, Hurry Up and Wait. I thought that it was a very intimate show and it had a nice turn out. It was also great to see two of my former schoolmates along with a guy that I knew from my local barbershop playing the string accompaniment during Hez’s set. I met a girl that night that’s into the BDSM scene too and that’s a different story for a different day.

Afterwards, I along with a few people moseyed over to Kung Fu Necktie for my long time friend Matthew Law’s Friends and Fam party. As soon as I stepped in the door, nothing but familiar faces and good graces. I saw a cutie leaning on the pool table but I moved to the dance floor hoping that I’d see her on the way back but nah, no dice. After Matt played Mark Morrison’s “Return of The Mack” and Montell Jordan’s “This Is How We Do It” , I got loose and climbed on stage like a rock star is supposed to. The energy that I felt from the music and the people dancing all around me is what I need more of as I get older. That kind of vibration keeps me young. By the way, my homie Vic really tried to fry me on stage with a couple of dance moves (Correction: He didn’t try, he actually did!)

While waiting outside, I saw even more people that I knew. That’s one of the cool things about Philly being as “small” as it is, we all know each other in some shape or form but that can also be a HUGE con as far as dating’s concerned. I ran into a dude that used to “Netflix and chill” with my ex at one point and time and even though they were OVER that still made me feel really awkward. Before the Uber arrived, I managed to snag a snapchat moment with a lady friend of mine with a sexy accent that she picked up from her time in New Zealand.

As the summer ends, I’m getting it how I live. This past weekend was alright and I can count it as a B minus for the books. Three weeks ago I pulled off a back to back word to Aubrey Graham but yet again, that’s another story for another day.

Peace…

Leave a Reply

