Fresh out of the Asylum…

Of all of the Christopher Nolan Batman movies, The Dark Knight is the best of the trilogy. The late Heath Ledger is the BEST Joker and I even may favor his portrayal of Batman’s arch nemesis over Jack Nicholson’s performance in the classic Tim Burton version BUT that really depends on the mood that I’m in. I “idolized” Ledger’s Joker because of how methodical his insanity appeared to be. Was he driven by a purpose or was it chaos just for the sake of doing so? Maybe with it being so hard to pinpoint and understand it caused my curiosity to grow. I don’t know but I can say that I see a lot of myself in that character, well not as extreme but in terms of just not subscribing to other peoples’ ways of surviving. The Joker of the Dark Knight was a gorgeous maelstrom and in this life, that’s what I’d rather be. All things conventional and traditional are become boring. If there aren’t any challenges to be met, I have to either create or find them. This past Saturday while waiting for the Market-Frankford line train to arrive at the 13th street station, I posted up against one of the tiled columns and as that metal rhinoceros rushed past, I felt the gust of wind that travelled along with it blow by with the velocity of a Tyson jab and I instantly felt like the Joker in the above scene. I feel freer now than I’ve ever had in life before and the madness has only just begun. All work, all hustle, all play without serious commitments. The crazy part about all of this is that once I reached my favorite comic book store, the homies said to me “You’re like the Joker now riding in the police car” … Great minds think alike..

One thought on “Fresh out of the Asylum…

Leave a Reply

