R.I.P. Louis Johnson of The Brothers Johnson

Rest In Peace to one of the illest bassists, Louis Johnson of the Brothers Johnson. He had some of the craziest skills that I’ve ever seen and heard in music and I’m fortunate enough to say that I have The Brothers Johnson in my vinyl collection. Their cover of “Strawberry Letter #23” is one of my all time favorite songs. He worked with Michael Jackson (he played on Off The Wall, Thriller and Dangerous) and contributed to projects by Quincy Jones, Grover Washington (R.I.P.) Stanley Clarke and other dope jazz/funk musicians of the time.  Though he passed at relatively young age (60) he’s left behind one hell of a legacy.

Leave a Reply

