Album of My Week: Snoop Dogg “BUSH”

Bush_Album_Cover

I get so busy and caught up in life these days that I really REALLY don’t have the time to sit down and listen to new music. I’ve been buying 12 inches and 45s for my collection but new music tends to elude me which is truly a first. Yesterday, I downloaded Snoop’s BUSH album from iTunes (Support good music) and I wasn’t too sure about it if we are going to be completely honest. Snoop is one of the most consistent veteran Hip-Hop artists of our generation and Pharrell of the Neptunes, the sole producer of the project, had a crazy year in 2013 with back to back radio hits (I liked “Get Lucky” with Daft Punk and Nile Rodgers but Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” ANNOYED the hell out of me) so of course many would expect a dope project from the two given their past collaborative history. But I had my reasons for being a bit doubtful.

Pharrell is a dope producer but as of late I felt like a lot of what I’ve heard has been monotonous. Everything started to sound the same to me and I wondered if more work with Chad Hugo would turn things around but BUSH as an album is consistent and cohesive. Snoop does what he does best and the musical direction fits his approach to crafting hits. In 2015, we can’t expect Snoop to have the same Doggystyle-type of mentality. He’s matured and it’s only right that the music follows suit. The album contains 10 funk laced tracks that harken back to an old school era where smooth grooves were supreme on dance floors, car stereo systems and of course the cookouts (or “barbecues” for the fancy people). My buddy Tim stated that it’s “full of old head dad jams” and it’s really quite fitting (in a good way of course). I’d like Snoop to stay in this vein of music and I’m looking forward to his next project with Dam Funk but until then BUSH will greatly suffice.

By The Way… Snoop won off the top with the Stevie Wonder assisted “California Roll”. The album features appearances by Kendrick Lamar, Gwen Stefani, Charlie Wilson, T.I., and Rick Ross.

Leave a Reply

