Macklemore on Race and Cultural Appropriation with Ebro In The Morning

As much as the Azealia Banks vs Iggy Azalea “conversation” began to tire me, I’m glad that it happened. IT HAD TO HAPPEN sooner or later at least. I’ve never had a problem with “white rappers” in Hip-Hop. If you can rap, you can rap and your ethnicity won’t keep me from respect your talent if you have it. I might not vibe to every Macklemore song (I rocked to “Thrift Shop” though) but I feel like he has a place in rap. My only issue with those who aren’t from the culture and are looking to start a music career is to respect the culture and be very cognizant of the black experience. With Iggy, I’m still lost as to how she uses her natural Aussie accent while speaking but choses to rap like a black woman from the south. Some say that imitation is the highest form of flattery and others say it’s cultural appropriation which is what I lean towards. With Macklemore, I respect him for being true to himself AND for being aware of his position in the industry and the discriminating power of certain “privileges” that he’s able to have due to the color of his skin. Watch the interview, share your opinion because I’m always down for dialogue.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

