I’m a Travellin’ Man…

I was bitten by the travel bug at a young age. It probably started when my parents bought me a Fisher Price World Globe with a viewfinder attached. I would sit on the floor of my room in my family’s old apartment and look at visuals of China, Japan, Mexico, Egypt, and other countries that I only saw on television and in picture books. I’ve always wanted to see the world and taste the air of foreign lands. Watching Big Bird in Japan made it even worse.

The Free Library of Philadelphia became my travel agency. I would read books about foreign countries – mostly Egypt – to give me the fix that I needed. Movies like Indiana JonesRaiders of the Lost Ark and Last Crusade filled my head with thoughts of adventure and that’s all that I wanted to do; Life became nothing but exploration. It wasn’t until my college graduation that I had the luxury of flying overseas to the Dominican Republic. Before then, my travels were limited to the East Coast. In 2008, I made it to Aruba and (I had more freedom to roam around than I did in D.R.) and I loved that island. The people were really cordial, the water was infinitely blue and the women?! If I stayed there back in 2008 and never returned to Philly, I’d probably have a kid by now.

I plan on visiting Tokyo, Paris, Berlin, somewhere in Brazil, London and South Africa and not in that exact order. I’d go anywhere really except Antarctica because… NO! Traveling and seeing the world opens your mind and cultivates your sensibilities. Whenever I see friends such as King Britt, Skeme Richards, and Rich Medina travel around the globe, I rub my palms like Birdman waiting for my turn to fly. I have to get the hell out of Philly in 2015 by any means! I swear that if I don’t get moving around soon, the below graphic -a collaboration between me and Brazilian graphic artist Guto Bernardo – may reflect my sentiment toward this city and I don’t want that… NOBODY WANTS THAT!!! *sounds of Apocalyptic Thunder rumbling*

fuckyouvintage
Work by King Red Rose and Guto Bernardo
Leave a Reply

